Movie Review Round-up

movies, family, entertainment

I have been known to post movie reviews here: mostly Sci-Fi, particularly old Sci-Fi because that’s what I enjoy watching.  Through those reviews I met a few others who would pop in to see my comments and use them to plan their own movie watching.

Then a few movie eZines chose to throw money at me if I’d publish my reviews through them. Not lots of money, mind you, but some is better than none. So I started shipping my reviews off to Socyberty, Cinemaroll and Telewatcher.  A couple of folks have said that they miss my insights.  Not many, mind you, but a couple.  So I decided to post this post were I can offer a digest of these reviews with links to their published locations.  I’ll update the list as new ones go out.

(UPDATE Aug 2015: the eZines have been taking down these older posts, so I will again post them here.)

Battle Beyond the SunMovie Review: Battle Beyond the Sun

My impressions of the movie Battle Beyond the Sun, a 1959 Russian film adapted by Roger Corman and westernized by Francis Ford Coppola.

 

 


sci-fi, movie, space opera, cult classic, Richard ThomasMovie Review: Battle Beyond the Stars

Battle Beyond the Stars, starring Richard Thomas, Robert Vaughn, John Saxon, George Peppard, and  a host of others is the story of a young man who ventures out from his pacifist home planet when it comes under attack by the evil tyrant Sador.

Published by WritingHood on April 3, 2012 (and since removed)
Buy the movie here: Battle Beyond the Stars


sci-fi, movie, review, moon, rocket Movie Review: Destination Moon (posting Sept 11)

Robert Heinlein was one of my favorite authors as I grew up.  I liked his no-nonsense approach to Science Fiction.  So when I saw that he was not only the author of the original story, but the technical adviser on the movie itself I knew this would be one to see.

Published by ScienceRay on Feb 22, 2012 (and since removed)
Buy the movie here: Destination Moon


sci-fi, review, movie, HG WellsMovie Review: The Infinite Worlds of H.G. Wells (posting Sept 18)

H.G. Wells foresaw the future in such visionary novels as The Time Machine and The War of the Worlds. In 1946 reporter Ellen McGillivray arrives at the home of legendary literary figure, Herbert George Wells intending to probe events and people who inspired his prophetic imagination. Instead she is informed of a world in which known scientific boundaries no longer exist.

Published by Writinghood on Feb 16, 2012 (and since removed)
Buy the move here: The Infinite Worlds of H.G. Wells


Sci-Fi, movie, dieselpunk, review, Sky CaptainMovie Review: Sky Captain and the World of Tomorrow (posting Sept 25)

A fantastic adventure and an astonishing technical achievement. Released in 2004, it was the first movie to be done entirely in blue screen and CGI, even a good portion of the cast is CGI but it is so well done you’d have a hard time telling if you didn’t know.

Published by Cinemaroll, Jan 28, 2012 (and since removed)


Movie Review: The Day The Earth Stood Still  (posting Oct 3)

For this week’s Classic Sci-Fi Saturday  article I will review and compare both the 1951 and the 2008 versions of this classic Sci-Fi movie.

Published on Telewatcher, Jan 22, 2012 (and since removed)


Movie Review: Them!  (posting Oct 10)

Radiation in the White Sands A bomb testing area has produced some monster ants that go on a rampage.  The State Police can’t stop them, the FBI can’t stop them… can the military prevent them from becoming the dominant species on Planet Earth?

Published on Cinemaroll, Jan 21, 2012 (and since removed)


Movie Review: Final Days of Planet Earth  (posting Oct 17)

Our Sci-Fi Friday Movie Night selection this week was Final Days of Planet Earth, an odd-ball alien invasion flick starring Daryl Hannah that provides some good family fun.

Published on Cinemaroll, Jan 5, 2012 (and since removed)


Movie Review: The Thing From Another World (posting Oct 24)

This week’s Schlocky Sci-Fi Friday Movie was one of our favorites; a timeless classic.

Arctic researchers witness the crash of what they determine to be a UFO.  When they investigate the crash they find and retrieve a large humanoid alien who had been embedded in the ice.  Assuming it to be dead, they return to their base with it.  But, of course, it is far from being dead.

Published on Socyberty, Jan 4, 2012 (and since removed)


Movie Review: Alien Trespass (posting Oct 31)

An alien spacecraft crash-lands on Earth after suffering mechanical trouble. Aboard are two aliens: one a bloodthirsty monster bent on consuming all organic life, the other a keeper who must recapture it before it begins breeding and decimates the population of the sleepy small town near the crash site (and eventually, the whole planet). To accomplish its mission, the keeper needs help from the town folk.  Some are not very helpful.

Published on Cinemaroll, Dec 28, 2011 (and since removed)


Movie Review: Santa Claus Conquers The Martians

For our “Schlocky Sci-Fi Friday Move” this week I dug down deep in the collection of odd-ball science fiction and pulled up one with a little Yuletide cheer tossed in.  This movie stars Pia Zadora, John Call, and Leonard Hicks.  It was made in 1964 and is filmed in color (although we turned that off – it’s a Friday thing!)

Published on Socyberty, Dec 21, 2011 (and since removed)


Movie Review: Destination Space

A movie review of the classic Sci-Fi movie Destination Space

Published on Gomestic, Dec 21, 2011 (and since removed)

About Doug

Jesus follower, writer, gardener, Sci-Fi fan, Beagle herder, occasional author, mountain man. My dogs think I’m a super-hero.

5 thoughts on “Movie Review Round-up

  1. I love all of those old sci-fis. The cheesier it is, the more I like it.

    I’ve seen all but the last 3. I do have Santa Claus vs the Martians on dvd though.

    My favorites so far have been the seriels Undersea Kingdom and Radar Men from the Moon.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *